Fitness for the Sake of Fitness

I know the last several health posts for Tuesday have been more about mental health. Relaxing, finding a way not to stress about everything, staying mentally healthy and maintaining inner peace.

Yes, I stress about pretty much everything so these posts were as much about helping me as they were about providing tips and ideas for others who might be looking for a way to stay mentally healthy.

Well, today I’m going to talk about working out and physical fitness. Ironically, staying physically healthy can actually make you feel mentally and emotionally better too.

Between both of my blogs I have spent a lot of time talking healthy eating and working out so I’m not sure if I have spent a great deal of time on this blog talking about physical fitness. Some of what I say today might seem familiar but a refresher is a good thing.

The biggest complaints I hear from people when it comes to working out are:

  • I don’t like to workout.
  • It takes too much time. / I’m too busy.
  • I can’t afford a gym membership.
  • I don’t want to lose my curves. / I’m not trying to be skinny.

Now that we have that listed let’s spend a little time this month addressing these excuses.

I don’t like to workout.

Okay, why? What is it about working out that gets under your skin and makes you neglect your health to avoid it?

I try to tell people that working out does not always just mean picking up weights, or doing boxing or running. There are many ways to get in healthy physical activity. So here are a few ideas to get you started.

  1. Rollerblading / skating.
  2. Bike riding (if you’re into that).
  3. Gardening and yard work. Trust me, the right kind of yard work might make you feel like you worked out for months upon months. And the great thing is that the physical activity is both healthy and not ever so boring. Just watch out for the bugs and snakes ;).
  4. Brisk walking. I actually like this one but like most people things go wrong with age so walking isn’t always an option for me. Know your body and be kind to it. Do not push yourself to do things you know are physically harming for you.
  5. Dancing. (Any type–not just classical ballroom dancing.)
  6. House work. Well, it has to be done so at least you know that you’ll be burning calories while you do it.
  7. Yoga. Yoga can be low impact or intensive. Either which way you take it you can still burn calories and tone and lengthen muscles at the same time.

There are many things you can do so research and see how the things you love to do might be able to be used to improve your physical fitness.

Please do remember that eating healthy / healthier is a big part of weight maintenance and health maintenance.

Next time we will tackle the next excuse on the list. Be sure to come back throughout the week for all of the postings.

One thought on “Fitness for the Sake of Fitness

Leave a Reply

