Sinking Ships

Have you ever just had one of those moments where the things you loved doing no longer interest you? I have had one of those moments before (more than one actually) and what I found is that not hastily making a jump overboard in a quest for escape is a good thing. Sometimes the need to abandon the ship is more of a moment of frustration, of being mentally exhausted trying to make something work or make sense. On those occasions sometimes it is best to take a step back, take a breath and come back with a clear head to decide if staying on board is the right option.

Royalty Free from pixaby.com

Royalty Free from pixabay.com

But then there are those times when there isn’t enough miles in between that can rectify the need to abandon ship. Those times are the times when I am trying not to abandon something that I really should let go. Those are the times when the decision is hardest to make. Those are the times when my emotional health takes the biggest impact.

So how do I deal with ships that may be sinking?

A step back, a deep breath (or several) and a look at what worked, why it worked and is it worth trying to make it work again. I question why I started some things in the first place. Did I start doing it because I had a love for it, or did I start doing it because somebody else wanted me to do it? Once I have my answer to those questions I can make a better placed decision than I can if I just jump overboard at the first sign of trouble.

Royalty Free from pixabay.com

Royalty Free from pixabay.com

Not every ship sinks, not every ship stays afloat. But if I continuously make decisions based on feelings without thinking them through there is a chance for a strong sense of regret later that can negatively effect my emotional and mental health.

How do you deal with sinking ships?

Stay Healthy

2 thoughts on “Sinking Ships

Leave a Reply

