Mother-Daughter Education

Talking with my mother is usually enlightening–if I listen :).

She has been telling me this for a long time (especially since I transitioned from relaxed) and I knew she was right but you know I was relaxed for so long and I had mastered the art of taking care of my hair so natural was not really a mystery to me, but something different that needed something different done.

I should have listened to my mom. She said it time and time again but there I was thinking, ‘no, it must be something different,’ and off on my search for something different I went.

Childhood Memories

Soft Yellow Rose

When I was growing up my mom always did my hair. She always put grease on my scalp and you know my scalp liked it. My hair grew thick, long and healthy just fine. If it’s not broke, as they say, don’t fix it.

I decided I want to go back to the “old school” techniques that women older, wiser and far more experienced than me did.

So what stays, what changes and what goes?

What Stays

  1. The inversion method stays because that did work for me. I don’t know how long I will do it, but I know I’m planning to do it this month at least.
  2. Deep conditioning (that never went away for me).
  3. My oils that I made for myself stay because I like how they feel in my hair and how my hair does with them.
  4. Scalp massage because I like doing them sometimes.

What Changes

  1. I’m putting shampoo back into my routine more often than just co-wash.
  2. I’m going back to once a week wash with the possibility of every two weeks. I liked washing my hair nearly every day but I think 1-2 times a week will do for now. Every 2 weeks worked fine for my hair in the winter when I was a child so if I need to do every 2 weeks in the winter my hair will survive just fine.
  3. Grease–I’m looking to find what my mom used when I was a child…I don’t know that I can do that, but I shall look for it when I can.
  4. More conditioner pre-washing simply because I find it works well for my hair and I don’t always do it right now.

What Goes

  1. Hair challenges.–It’s not that I think little of them it’s just I’m fine without them. I thought of doing the one that starts tomorrow but I already eat healthy, drink smoothies every day, take care of my hair and it’s in protective styles often anyway so I’m just going to do the me that is me.
  2. Stop going in for so many products that I end up not using anyway.
  3. Listening to others who don’t know me or my hair. My mom has years of experience with my hair and she has never let me down so I’m listening to my mom and adding a little bit of me along the way.

Ultimately I think I just have to do what has always worked for me. Sometimes mothers really do know best.

For those of you relaxed or natural, what hair decisions have you had to make along the path to healthy hair?

Stay Beautiful. Stay Healthy.

Leave a Reply

