Challenges Equate to Learning

Life is full of challenges. For babies, learning to go in the pot is a challenge–no that’s a challenge for the parent who is ready to give up diaper duty I guess. Either which way it goes, challenges give a person a chance to learn something.

The Workout Challenge

This Bikini Series challenge thing taught me that working hard allowed me to meet and surpass the 100 by Summer part of the challenge. It also taught me that the workout these ladies do isn’t for me and that pushed me back to just doing my cardio plus yoga thing because I like yoga. Yoga allows me to tone and lengthen without getting bulky. I know there is somebody out there already professing that women cannot bulk up and I will say we will have to agree to disagree on that. But bulk is relative so what one sees as bulky may not be what somebody else sees as being bulky.

That being said, I have decided to just do me. I have my own goals and kind of did my own challenge for the next couple months because I do want to find fun cardio workouts that I can toss in to mix up the usual while changing up my daily yoga a bit more. I do a mix of yoga but I get comfortable (not perfect, just comfortable) and I tend to redo the same moves day after day. There is nothing wrong with repetition but it can get boring–like falling asleep in tree pose (that’s a bad idea unless you have magical balance you know).

So what else did I learn during this challenge?

  1. It’s okay to just be you and do you. Yes, I already knew that but a reminder is a good thing, especially when others are trying to force you to be what they want you to be (workout not in topic here).
  2. It’s okay to take a break. I workout every single day and it is hard for me to step away from that but today I have decided to just take a break. (For the record, I am still thinking of doing serious yoga later but you know…I’m working on that taking a break thing 😉 ).
  3. Sometimes one has to save oneself and learn how to walk away when things just aren’t right. Walking away is hard. And while walking away from a workout pattern and going on my way to a workout that has been working for me and is best for me isn’t the crucial decision of my life, it kind of makes me take another look at some things. Workout challenges are the bottom level of importance but if I can not feel guilty about doing the me thing there then maybe one day I’ll get the important stuff right too.

Anyway, I hope you all had a good, if not great, week. I hope you will have a relaxing and uplifting weekend. But even if things don’t go right today always remember that tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it–yet.

Stay Healthy

Leave a Reply

